Read It Through

I supposed I knew the Bible,
    reading piecemeal, hit or miss,
Now a bit of John or Matthew,
    Now a snatch of Genesis;
Certain chapters of Isaiah
    certain Psalms (the twenty-third),
Twelfth of Romans, First of Proverbs,
    yet I thought I knew the word.
But I found a thorough reading
    was a different thing to do,
And the way was unfamiliar
    when I read the Bible through

You who like to play at Bible,
    Dip and dabble here and there
Just before you kneel a-weary,
    and yawn out a hurried prayer;
You who treat the (crown of writing)
    as you treat no other book –
Just a paragraph disjointed,
    Just a crude, impatient look –
Try a worthier procedure,
    try a broad and steady view,
You will kneel in very rapture
    When You Read The Bible Through.

Amos Wells